Show Summary Details
Page of

(p. 24) 2. The Sources of the Law 

(p. 24) 2. The Sources of the Law
(p. 24) 2. The Sources of the Law

Stephen Weatherill

Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD LAW TROVE ( © Oxford University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a title in Oxford Law Trove for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy and Legal Notice).

date: 27 May 2020

This chapter examines the three major sources of the law of the European Union. It first discusses the founding treaties, including the Treaty of Paris, the two Treaties of Rome, the Single European Act 1986, the Maastricht Treaty (which created the European Economic Community, renamed the European Community), the Amsterdam Treaty, and the Lisbon Treaty. The chapter then considers the nature and method of adoption of legislation, as well as the general legal principles that have been shaped by the Court of Justice of the European Union. Among the principles of EU law are the principle of proportionality and the principle of fundamental rights.

Access to the complete content on Law Trove requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access code, please see the information provided with the code or instructions printed within the title for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us.